This topic has 10 replies, 10 voices, and was last updated 3 years ago by Former Member Content Archive.

• Author
     abernathysj
    • Experience: 5-10 years
    • Scenic Status: Full Time Regular

Hi all! This week I starched and painted on a pre-sewn, pre-FR drop, something I have never done before. it felt very Murphy’s Law all week. First, my size recipe (from Cobalt) came out too thick to run through the sprayer, so I had to thin it down. we did a second starch coat with my boss’s recipe, which just involves mixing starch slurry into hot water, not really “cooking” it in boiling water like I’m used to. This recipe was about the same in starch:water ratio, but came out much thinner and behaved better in the sprayer. anyway, with both coats, the starch soaked into the fabric immediately and did not seem to move at all as we brushed it. this resulted in a cheetah-print look while wet, and remained speckled and blotchy when I applied my base scumble. I also noticed that, although the fabric is supposedly heavy weight natural, it felt much thinner than I am used to, and it was very transparent when wet. It also did not shrink up all that nicely after starch and hot water. It’s not bad, but there is still some looseness that I don’t appreciate.

[img]https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170728/fba8254d8d2cb2cac45377127c906a71.jpg[/img]

the immediate absorption issue did not stop after the starching. wet stumble, wet surface + roller, bath… it felt like nothing wanted to move across the surface the way I’m used to paint moving. I could see water coming out of my mister and immediately disappearing into the fabric, even after multiple coats of paint.