This topic has 2 replies, 3 voices, and was last updated 2 days, 10 hours ago by Jeffrey Cook.

• Author
     JennyHitmar
    • Experience: 15-20 years
    • Scenic Status: Full Time Freelance

Member Member

For the small theaters I work at, I usually just use Polycrylic or Varathane from Home Depot to seal my floors. But I need to touch up a national touring show ‘s floor, and I’m not sure if I should be using something more durable. Since I’m not experienced with other brands, I’m nervous about the sheen level and, well , many other things!! Thank you for any leads you can offer.

I’d like a water based, one part, one coat.

I’m being told they don’t have a paint kit and aren’t sure what it was was sealed with before. I’m going in for a meeting and then probably working on it the next day, So I’m not being given time to order material. So it will probably have to be a box store project.

we have Sherwin Williams, Home depot, Lowes, PPG, and limited Benjamin Moore in our area. I’d appreciate any industrial suggestions that would be appropriate.

Nathalie Schlosser
    • Experience: 10-15 years
    • Scenic Status: Full Time Regular

Member Member

My favorite floor sealer is Loba Easy Finish.  It’s one part, super easy to use, and very durable.  I would look into your local flooring suppliers for what they have available.  I can usually get this brand or Bona (which also has some one-part floor finishes that could work as well) very readily at my local flooring place.

Jeffrey Cook
    • Experience: 20+ years
    • Scenic Status: Full Time Regular

Member Member